Jacket design by Gavin L. O'Keefe

Read the Introduction

Return to Ramble House Page

OLD FAITHFUL and Other Stories

The Best of Raymond Z. Gallun, Volume I


Raymond Z. Gallun

No one made up better non-human aliens than Raymond Z. Gallun in his Astounding Stories contributions of the 30s. John Pelan has collected 10 of them in this first volume of a planned three-volume set and introduces them. See his introduction below for more about this fascinating author.

The stories in this volume are:

Old Faithful, Astounding Science Fiction, December 1934

Brother Worlds, Thrilling Wonder, February 1951

Iszt—Earthman, Astounding Science Fiction, April 1938

The Achilles Heel, Amazing Stories, 1940

Hotel Cosmos, Astounding Science Fiction, July 1938

Prodigal’s Aura, Astounding Science Fiction, April 1951

Bluff Play, Thrilling Wonder Stories, December 1950

Asteroid of Fear, 1951 Planet Stories March 1951

The Eternal Wall, 1942 Amazing Stories November 1942

Davey Jones’ Ambassador, Astounding Science Fiction, Dec. 1935

308 pages.

Available Editions 

$20 Trade Paperback 6" x 9"
$35 Hardcover with Dustjacket  6" x 9"

This book is available at Amazon but I can offer you a discount and free shipping (in the USA) if you e-mail me with your order. flyingspiderster@gmail.com